Tournament "Fun Facts"

Dec. 20, 2017

40th John Reid Memorial Bantam AAA Hockey Tournament

January 18th - 21st, 2018

“Fun Facts”


  1. The 2017 WHL Bantam Draft featured over 80 players who were participants in the JRMT, including 17 of 22 first round picks as well as the first 11 players selected overall.


  1. Thirteen alumni of the John Reid Memorial Tournament were recently invited to participate at the Team Canada World Junior Development camp for the 2018 World Juniors. Dante Fabbro, Kale Clague, Tyler Steenbergen, Sam Steel and Josh Mahura were named to the roster. 


  1. At least 128 alumni from the JRMT have gone on to play in the NHL including Jerome Iginla, Scott and Rob Niedermeyer, Vincent Lecalvier, Eric Staal, Jonathan Toews, Jordan Eberle, and recently St. Albert’s own Colton Parayko and Matthew Benning.


  1. The all-time single tournament scoring leader is Jonathon Toews who scored an unbelievable 36 points (7 games) in the 2003 edition of the tournament.


  1. In 2013 Tyler Benson set the "career" scoring record for the JRMT with a total of 40 points in the 2012 and 2013 editions of the event, surpassing Michael St. Croix's 38 total point total in 2007 and 2008.


  1. The Thunder Bay Kings won the tournament a record four consecutive years (1997 - 2000). The 1997 Thunder Bay squad featured five future NHLers: Patrick Sharp, Taylor Pyatt, Aaron MacKenzie, Jason Jaspers and Alex Auld. 


  1. The 2017 Champion Toronto Marlboros, were the first Ontario team to win the John Reid Memorial Tournament since Thunder Bay in 2002.


  1. Every NHL team has / had a JRMT alumnus on their roster, including the Vegas Golden Knights. Current VGK forward Cody Eakin played for the Winnipeg Monarchs in the 2005 and 2006 editions of the tournament.


  1. The St. Albert Sabres have had 16 JRMT participants go on to play in the NHL since 1979. The Notre Dame Hounds are second with 13 alumni having played in the NHL.


  1. The Edmonton Oilers have had the most JRMT alumni play their first NHL game with their organization, with 9. Chicago Black Hawks and the Colorado Avalanche each have had 8 JRMT Alumni start their NHL careers with their team. 


  1. 2014 marked the first ever European entry into the John Reid Memorial, as HC Kometa from Brno, Czech Republic went 2-2-1 in the event. Two players from that team are currently in the WHL, playing with the Kelowna Rockets.


  1. Albert has only won their own tournament once - 1983, led by future NHL sniper Rob Brown.

RAMP Registration

Join thousands of association partners using RAMP Registration Solutions.

Get Started

RAMP Official Assigning

#1 with Officials...for very good reasons.

Get Started

RAMP Websites

Manage your identity from the palm of your hand to the top of your desk.

Get Started

RAMP Team App

Keep your coaches, parents, athletes, and fans connected, seamlessly.

Get Started