Tournament Fun Facts

Dec. 16, 2016

39th John Reid Memorial Bantam AAA Hockey Tournament

January 19th - 22nd, 2017

"Fun Facts"


  1. The 2016 WHL Bantam Draft featured over 80 players who were participants in the JRMT, including 14 of 21 first round picks.


  1. Four alumni of the John Reid Memorial Tournament were recently selected to Team Canada at the 2017 World Juniors. Kale Clague, Dante Fabbro, Tyson Jost and Matthew Barzal all were stars at the JRMT.


  1. At least 120 alumni from the JRMT have gone on to play in the NHL including Jerome Iginla, Scott and Rob Niedermeyer, Vincent Lecalvier, Eric Staal, Jonathan Toews, Jordan Eberle, and recently St. Albert's own Colton Parayko and Matthew Benning.


  1. The all-time single tournament scoring leader is Jonathon Toews who scored an unbelievable 36 points (7 games) in the 2003 edition of the tournament.


  1. In 2013 Tyler Benson set the "career" scoring record for the JRMT with a total of 40 points in the 2012 and 2013 editions of the event, surpassing Michael St. Croix's 38 total point total in 2007 and 2008.


  1. The Thunder Bay Kings won the tournament a record four consecutive years (1997 - 2000). The 1997 Thunder Bay squad featured five future NHLers: Patrick Sharp, Taylor Pyatt, Aaron MacKenzie, Jason Jaspers and Alex Auld. 


  1. The Toronto Marlboros (2017) will be the first Ontario team to attend the Tournament since Thunder Bay in 2002.


  1. The 2005 North Shore Winter Club (Vancouver) team featured four future NHLers - Martin Jones, Drew Shore, Stefan Elliot and Evander Kane.


  1. The St. Albert Sabres have had 16 JRMT participants go on to play in the NHL since 1979. The Notre Dame Hounds are second with 12 alumni having played in the NHL.


  1. The Edmonton Oilers have had the most JRMT alumni play their first NHL game with their organization, with 9. Chicago Black Hawks have had 8 JRMT Alumni start their NHL careers with their team.  Colorado Avalanche are 3rd with 7.


  1. 2014 marked the first ever European entry into the John Reid Memorial, as HC Kometa from Brno, Czech Republic went 2-2-1 in the event.


  1. Albert has only won their own tournament once - 1983, led by future NHL sniper Rob Brown.


Tell your Team Manager to turn
RAMP Team on!


Do you want to reach thousands of users across hundreds of Minor Sports Association websites? Advertising with RAMP has never been easier! Get in touch with us now to discuss your needs.